Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Alpha Protocol

Game » consists of 11 releases. Released May 27, 2010

Control rogue agent Michael Thorton as he tries to unearth an international conspiracy in the near future (where everybody seems to have a hidden agenda or two) in this third-person action RPG.

So I started playing through the PC version today...

Krakn3Dfx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By Krakn3Dfx

Picked it up for $7.50 on Steam during the Xmas sale, finally started it up today.  I can see why people compare it to Mass Effect, it's got a lot in common with that game.  I'm about 8 hours in now, and I'm enjoying the hell out of it.  The story, the acting, the locations are all top notch so far.  There's a definite jankiness to the game, the shooting mechanic is flawed, and once I had all the enemies just disappear from an area.  In spite of that, the story and feeling of real choice in the game make it one of the best games I've played in a while.  It's really too bad that it didn't sell well enough to warrant a sequel, nobody should have to buy a broken game, but at the same time I think a followup that addresses the big issues people have and keeps the pacing and story would be a worthwhile experience.

If you're someone who can look beyond the mechanical shortcomings of a game and enjoy the story, I totally recommend it.

Chris2KLee

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 13

#2  Edited By Chris2KLee

Get ready for the end of the game where, for whatever reasons, they decided to design a succession of boss fights that highlight everything that is wrong with the game mechanically. It's hair pulling until you find a way to cheese the fight, then it's just dull. That said, I agree that it would be nice if they had another shot at it, but maybe someone else will take a crack at it down the road in a new IP.

AhmadMetallic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1