Amnesia: The Dark Descent

Posted by mzuckerm (351 posts) -

I recently became a big fan of Frictional Games when I played through the Penumbra series, so I have been highly anticipating Amnesia.  It just released, so I started playing yesterday and I'm already deep into it.  The story grips you almost instantly, with a very similar Lovecraftian feel.  The game controls are fairly similar to those in Penumbra, although the graphics and ambiance are obviously much improved.  So far I'm loving it, but we'll see how the story develops.

#1 Posted by mzuckerm (351 posts) -

I recently became a big fan of Frictional Games when I played through the Penumbra series, so I have been highly anticipating Amnesia.  It just released, so I started playing yesterday and I'm already deep into it.  The story grips you almost instantly, with a very similar Lovecraftian feel.  The game controls are fairly similar to those in Penumbra, although the graphics and ambiance are obviously much improved.  So far I'm loving it, but we'll see how the story develops.

#2 Posted by KillyDarko (1888 posts) -

Yeah, I myself am I big fan of the Penumbra series, especially "Black Plague". I purchased "Amnesia" the day it was released, but unfortunately I haven't had the time to play it... I'm still playing 2009 games, haha. I'm always one year behind stuff... I wish days were longer ;)

But it's good to know that it apparently won't disappoint me!

#3 Posted by mzuckerm (351 posts) -
@KillyDarko:  Amnesia's definitely worth playing, especially if you liked the second Penumbra game (once they got rid of the combat).  Not sure how I feel about the ending (just beat it today), but all in all well worth the money I spent.
#4 Posted by devosion (112 posts) -