Tips for a Dark Souls beginner?

#1 Posted by callsignneptune (27 posts) -

Hey guys, I've just started Dark Souls II and was wondering if any of you have any tips or hints for me? I played the first Dark Souls very briefly but got distracted by another game and never went back. I did really enjoy what I played though, so I went ahead and bought the second. Apart from that very brief introduction to the series I have no experience with the game, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

#2 Edited by Spoonman671 (4563 posts) -

If you're ever at a loss for which stat you should be upgrading, it is always safe to level Endurance up. No matter your playstyle, pretty much every character should have their endurance at 20. This raises your stamina, and you can't do anything without stamina, including cast spells. After 20, you stop getting significant increases in stamina, however.

I figure this is good advice for somebody who has never built a Dark Souls character and is nervous about leveling the "wrong" way. It's also important to remember that there isn't really a wrong way. All builds are viable.

#3 Posted by AlisterCat (5484 posts) -

There's already a couple of tips threads.

My advice would be don't get hit.

#4 Posted by Lukeweizer (2611 posts) -

PATIENCE. Can't stretch that enough. The game can go a lot smoother if you have great patience. Don't go rushing into areas, don't go rushing to get your souls back, don't get greedy when attacking enemies.

#5 Edited by callsignneptune (27 posts) -

@alistercat: Oh, I'm sorry. I did search but couldn't find anything

#6 Edited by mosespippy (4046 posts) -

The magics are overpowered. I can't count how many bosses I walk into with my melee build and my co-op partners down in under 30 seconds. I'mm hitting for slivers of damage and the other guys are just cutting through in three hits.

Chloranthy rings and Second/Third Dragons rings are great. Almost everybody uses them.