What mindset is required to enjoy Dark souls 2? Retrospective evolution of a dark souls player

Posted by announakis (121 posts) -

I recently stumbled across this thread in the DS2 forum: "Dark Souls 2 new features announced" and was amazed by the heat of the discussion about invasions and the ethics of gameplay in the game.

It made me realize how much players are misguided regarding what they should expect from a “souls” game and how they should approach it. Apparently a lot of people are still failing to adapt their perception of the game even after many years of existence. I hope reading this will help them change their perspective and help them relax and appreciate all aspects of the souls games including PvP.

To tackle the problem, I remembered the different phases I went through and what motivated the transitions to the next phase.

INVASIO-PHOBIA

When I started playing DaS about 2 months after its launch, I was new to the series. I did not know what to expect and was not really enthusiastic at all about this game....there was nothing else interesting me at the time. I was hooked in about 10 mins... because of the physics of the game, the precision of the controls and the gloomy atmosphere...I played the shit out of this game in PvE for long hours and I sucked...I knew nothing, was struggling to make any sense of the mechanics of the stats etc....but what I dreaded above all was being INVADED....oh boy, the scarce few times I was invaded, my heart was pumping furiously in my chest, my palms were sweaty and I could not think straight...because I was AFRAID...what other games make you genuinely afraid ? None that I know except DaS...