Playing Dark Souls offline

#1 Posted by moffattron9000 (353 posts) -

I just started playing Dark Souls, but due to my Xbox being one of the ones without WiFi and my being in a room of the house where I can't get a plug there, i am playing if offline I want to know what to expect. Also any general tips would not go amiss.

#2 Edited by The_Laughing_Man (13629 posts) -

It's not super different. You won't be able to summon human players and won't be able to be invaded. Other then that no big changes.

#3 Posted by Nilazz (639 posts) -

People won't troll you to jump down random cliffs.

#4 Edited by Carousel (418 posts) -

You WILL still be invaded, but only by NPC black phantoms. They only spawn in specific places, if certain specific criteria are met, so it's not really a big deal.

You can also summon NPC phantoms to help, but only in boss fights.

I wouldn't recommend playing offline (since it's a huge part of the game) unless you absolutely must.

EDIT: You also won't be able to see player messages.

#5 Edited by MentalDisruption (1670 posts) -

Offline isn't that different. Remember that you can still summon npcs to fight in bosses, and certain areas have npcs that will invade you. So you still get to experience that side of the gameplay. You might miss some secret/hidden stuff without messages to help you, so make sure to be thorough in exploring. When you play offline try to be human as much as possible, since you won't have to deal with player invaders anyway.