What was so bad about this game?

#1 Posted by luchadeer797 (294 posts) -

I recently finished playing Deus Ex: Human Revolution and found it to be one of the best experiences I've had in gaming. But after playing it i found myself wondering why people don't like Invisible War in the slightest. To give this some context though when it came out i was only 8 and just getting into gaming. At 16 DE: HR is my first foray into the series, so I have no prior knowledge regarding the series.

#2 Edited by CornBREDX (5627 posts) -

At the time, it's biggest sin was being a console focused game. I have not played it in so long I don't remember much about it anymore but I remember it not quite being as cool as the original Deus Ex. It felt less interesting story wise.

#3 Posted by Buscemi (1106 posts) -

I remember Totalbiscuit saying it was very linear. I myself don't know, haven't played a single Deus Ex game.

#4 Posted by Vinny_Says (5719 posts) -

I also have no experience with Deus Ex but Human Revolution is one of the best games this year. Will I be called a noob for saying that?

#5 Edited by Marz (5658 posts) -

It was very streamlined from the first game.   Also it had very bad performance back when it was released on the PC.    Universal ammo was ......   a slap in the face.  Also map design was very small and limited compared to the first game.    It suffered for being a cross platform game back in the original xbox days, which was blasphemy to PC gamers even moreso than it is nowadays.   I enjoyed it though, definitely had it's moments.

#6 Posted by luchadeer797 (294 posts) -
@CornBREDX @Marz cool, thanks guys. that better helps to understand it.
#7 Posted by Z3RO180 (230 posts) -
@Marz: so really the reason it was hated was becase pc fanboys moaned and cryed about it being on a concel???
#8 Posted by SethPhotopoulos (5308 posts) -

People said it was dumbed down and to console focused.

#9 Posted by SethPhotopoulos (5308 posts) -
@Z3RO180 said: