The Disney's The Little Mermaid wiki last edited by BeachThunder on 04/20/14 11:07AM View full history


The Little Mermaid is a Capcom developed and published side-scrolling action game for the NES and Game Boy, released in 1991.


The game largely takes place in the ocean, with Ariel swimming across a series of underwater stages. Similar to other Capcom licensed games like Chip 'N Dale: Rescue Rangers, Ariel can stun her enemies, then pick them up and throw them at others. Players can also dig for sea shells and find hidden treasure, eventually earning powerups to the number and size of bubbles that Ariel can use as projectiles.


The story of the game takes place after the events of the film. In the game, Ursula, the evil Witch of the Sea, has cast a spell on all watery creatures. In order to save her friends, Ariel dives into the sea, becoming a mermaid again. But the water is full of jellyfish, lobsters, eels, and blowfish.


The following stages, and their boss fights, are specific to the NES version of the game.

  1. The Sea of Coral. Boss: Great White Shark.
  2. Sunken Ship. Boss: Eels.
  3. Sea of Ice. Boss: Walrus.
  4. Undersea Volcano. Boss: Captain Seahorse.
  5. Ursula's Castle. Boss: Ursula. (and then Giant Ursula)

This edit will also create new pages on Giant Bomb for:

Beware, you are proposing to add brand new pages to the wiki along with your edits. Make sure this is what you intended. This will likely increase the time it takes for your changes to go live.

Comment and Save

Until you earn 1000 points all your submissions need to be vetted by other Giant Bomb users. This process takes no more than a few hours and we'll send you an email once approved.