The music of doom 2 is strangely familiar...

#1 Posted by pieman32 (163 posts) -

So I was watching a play through of doom 2 and I started noticing that the music resembles famous metal bands music. Like this here:

The music in there is obviously This Love by Pantera. Is this something that was intended, because there is another level that sounded like it had south of heaven by slayer. Im new to this, so can someone clarify this for me plz. :P

#2 Edited by AhmadMetallic (18955 posts) -

My god, the memories..  
And yeah you're right, that IS "This Love." Crazy ;o  When I played it I was like 7 so I wasn't familiar with the music back then. 

You're getting followed just for showing me an entire chapter of my childhood :P

#3 Posted by freewilly5 (64 posts) -

Hey, I don't mean to insult or anything, but I thought this was really common knowledge. Yes Doom took major inspiration in it's music from metal bands of the time.

#4 Posted by Gargantuan (1881 posts) -

They stole a lot of music   

#5 Posted by ShaggE (6346 posts) -

Yep, this is well known. Them Bones by Alice In Chains was the one that I noticed first.

#6 Posted by Wampa1 (627 posts) -

Do the bands not know about it? Just surprised no one tried to sue over it back when Doom was at it's height.

#7 Posted by MikkaQ (10269 posts) -

This may be the case however... I can't help but like the MIDI metal more... every time. I think the metal scene has been shitty for almost 25 years though, so hey.

#8 Posted by SomeDeliCook (2229 posts) -

The midi songs sound better to me because certain parts were altered and they just sound better as a result.

Not to mention its midi in the first place

#9 Edited by fisk0 (3873 posts) -