dont understand all the hype

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by SturmMajere (52 posts) -

wtf is with all the hype for this game? i've been playing vids for at least 20 years and never have i heard of "dota", then all of a sudden outta the blue every website or magazine i read is "dota this" and "dota that". really, what the f**k is a dota??!!!??! is it really just a mod for warcraft 3? really?? people are really getting this excited for a sequel to a mod?! jesus christ, how starved for games are PC gamers that they'd get all bent outta shape for a sequel to a mod?

and really, all the descriptions(including giant bombs) and stuff i've read for the game either don't explain anything at all, or make it sound like the lamest, dumbest most simplistic game to ever get this much coverage. first i've seen it referred to as a MOBA, as if a f*****g "moba" was a genre. second of all, the giant bomb description describes it: "players control individual hero characters and defend their base against waves of computer-controlled monsters and five opposing player-heroes" really? thats it? its a f*****g game where you play a character defending some arbitrary somethingrather from some arbitrary computer controlled somethingrathers? and this just goes on indefinitely? wow. sounds awesome. sounds like my game of the year. sounds like something i'd need to write endless articles and hype stories about. and its a SEQUEL to a MOD. awesome.

...wtf?????

#2 Edited by mandude (2669 posts) -

Team Fortress 2 was essentially a sequel to a mod, and look at that. Dota's the sequel to a mod, now backed by a full development team/cycle. I don't think you understand the scope of this at all though, and I can't read this post without imagining you frothing at the mouth.

#3 Edited by LordXavierBritish (6320 posts) -

Why would you make an account just to post this.

#4 Edited by CL60 (16906 posts) -