DOTA Disappointment

#1 Edited by benstewart84 (22 posts) -

So last night I played one game with my fellow duders, and it was the first time I have come away from the game with a negative feeling.

I am a n00b with around 22 games under by belt now. In all of those games I've felt that I have done myself a decent turn and helped as part of a team. Winning or losing still to me doesn't really matter, as I'm still learning, but last night it did.

As part of the Single Draft I got handed my first Drow Ranger. Now having been a support for 21 games I thought I'd give it my best go with one of the strongest heroes in the game.

Here was my chance to run a game with someone other than Tinker.

I failed.

Badly.

Maybe it was the other team ganging up on me. Maybe it was my just being an idiot.

But as I solo'd in the middle lane and tried to do as well as I could, I fed to Phantom Assassin across the pond from me and ended up stinking up the game.

So much so that I logged in early this morning before work to play a bot game with Drow to figure out just what went wrong.

So my question is this; have you ever came out of a game of DOTA dejected? Why? Was it your own fault? Was it someone moaning? What did you do to learn from it?

#2 Posted by TobbRobb (4842 posts) -

Failure is a part of learning, and dota takes a long time to learn. I expect and almost guarantee, that someone new to the game WILL fail, and will fail a lot until they get a grasp of all the tiny moving pieces that makes the game. And getting to that point most likely will take hundreds of matches, a hundred matches of joy and a hundred of pain. Such is the life of playing a competitive game and dota isn't different.

Now I probably also felt dejected at fucking up while learning, but it really isn't your fault at the learning stage, just suck it up and try again. Maybe next time it'll go better.