Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Dota 2

Game » consists of 3 releases. Released Jul 09, 2013

The official free-to-play sequel to the Warcraft III custom scenario that originally popularized the Multiplayer Online Battle Arena sub-genre.

Limited queue and abandoning games

ichthy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So I just started playing Dota after getting swept up by the TI4 hype. I played LoL casually for a few months (never made it to level 30) so I have a basic understanding of MOBA mechanics, but I've been playing in limited queue to get a feel for the differences while not having to deal with the huge range of heroes. My problem now is that I rarely have a game where there isn't at least one person abandoning when someone gets a few early kills. I suppose this is probably due to the lack of any penalty in limited, but it's still really frustrating. Hell, this was the last game I played, and I've had games where the entire other team disconnected. I know there's no surrender option like League, but giving up at 5 minutes seems kinda defeatist. Should I just jump into normal queue instead or are low level games just like this?

BabyChooChoo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By BabyChooChoo

Limited pool or not, if you're new to DotA, a large chunk of your matches will have leavers in them. It sucks, but that's just how it is. As you play more and more, it'll become less and less common and you'll get to the point where it's actually rare for someone to abandon a game.

Slag

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

User Lists: 45

@ichthy said: