Would anyone mind running me up to speed with DOTA 2?

#1 Posted by granderojo (1778 posts) -

Alright so I love strategy games, RTS games in general. I'm also good at MOBA games that are not in an RTS framework, like DOTA or LoL, but I've never been good DOTA. I played it years ago, put a lot of time into it and never got good then. I also look at the current DOTA 2 roster and all item combinations and it's rather daunting. What's the best way for me to run up to speed? Anyone mind playing some matches with me and running through some of the basics. I haven't played DOTA in years, I really have no idea what to do. Team composition...item composition...roles. Where do I start?

#2 Posted by mooncake (155 posts) -
#3 Edited by Stradivari (24 posts) -

I just started playing myself and I think a really important thing to note is that the first level is extremely difficult to play. My friends who are level 35s made smurf accounts to play level one games with me and to teach me how to play. The early levels are full of people just starting out and don't know what's going on but it's also full of people who are really, really good and are either on smurf accounts themselves, or are on new accounts in order to start an account with a better win/loss ratio. So unfortunately, the earlier levels are harder than say level 15. I've won a lot of games in the 15-20 levels but have lost most of my games in the earlier levels. This is just a heads up. Don't get discouraged when you start playing and you get completely destroyed by a team who are obviously not beginners.