Something went wrong. Try again later
    Follow

Dragon Quest IX: Sentinels of the Starry Skies

Game » consists of 5 releases. Released Jul 11, 2009

The most recent installment of the "Dragon Quest" franchise debuts exclusively on the DS. It features 4 player co-op and turn-based combat.

Change Classes, Why?

Avatar image for operationtophat
    OperationTophat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By OperationTophat

I just got to Alltrades Abby and was really excited to be able to choose a new class.  I'm new to the DQ series and my last true JRPG game was probably FFX so forgive me if I don't really know how this works. 

When you choose a new class you drop back down to level one, with crappy HP/MP and your spells all gone.  So what is the point?  I know you can change back to your minstrel character at any time, but I just don't understand why you would trade at all.  Do stats carry over?  Skill points?  Why should I bother? 

Please, if someone could give a DQ noob a tip or two, I'd appreciate it...

JuanSolid

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2  Edited By JuanSolid

Well I am not up to that point yet. This game reminds me of DW3, in that game you where the hero class, and everyone else could be one of a lot of other classes. The idea is yes you can change classes, but when you do, you do go back to level 1, however you kept half your stats so a warrior with 800 hit points and tons of strength could come back as a pretty bad arsed over 400 hit point having level one mage (and yes he would have half that strength and usually start off with bonus MP due to the higher intelligence stat from the previous char being a high level).

I really hope this one let's you carry over your skills you master as time goes on along with advanced classes. In DW3