What is a game? A miserable little pile of concepts!

kingschiebi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By kingschiebi

Hello world,

Being still a new user to GiantBomb, this is my first attempt at a little blog that I'll write just to keep a couple of notes and thoughts while messing around with the GB API. I don't think that this will be terribly informative or entertaining, but feel free to add your thoughts as well or ask questions and I'll do my best to help out.

Watching the GiantBomb radio recently, I recall Jeff saying that he would like to see the API being used to help users find games that they like. I though about this for some time, didn't see any other attempt to try it, yet, and first thought of the "Similar Games" pages. Unfortunately, these are user based recommendations and while these are valuable, they can't really be used in a programatic approach to the problem.

This led me to the idea that one would have to use the concepts attached to a game in order to find other games with a similar set of concepts. So I started out writing comparator that takes a look at two games and calculate some (semi-)meaningful values:

• Similarity - How many concepts are attached to both games
  • Difference - How many concepts are present in A, but not in B and vice versa (these are two values)
  • Distance - Calculates the Jaccard index between both concept sets (simply said: number of similar concepts divided by the union of all concepts)

Of course, this approach assumes that each game has all applying concepts attached to it, but I'll get into the flaws of that a bit later.