#1 Posted by Jonnyflash80 (505 posts) -

So, I'm about to expose how much of a noob I am, at least when it comes to raiding. I've played a lot of WoW over the years and typically I've done all solo questing and 5 man dungeons but have never participated in a raid or anything requiring more than 5 people.  The guilds I've been involved with in the past just never got into the whole raiding thing and I've never sought it out. I feel like I am missing out on a significant amount of content. 

I'm going to be putting on a significant push to level 85 over the next few weeks (I'm close to 74 now) so I'm looking forward to the whole raid aspect. Since I have no knowledge of raids I have a lot of questions obviously. 

Is there any important reading I should look at regarding raids? What does a "progression" raid mean? Should I start getting set up with raid gear before I get to level 85 or all important raid gear level 85 only? 

Any help you guys and gals can provide would be greatly appreciated. 

-Jonnyflash

#2 Posted by gakon (1952 posts) -

This is probably a longer answer than you want, and if you already understand some of these concepts, sorry. 

In general "progression" raiding refers to the current tier of raid content, which currently includes The Bastion of Twilight, Blackwing Descent, and Throne of the Four Winds. More specifically, a "progression boss" refers to a boss your group is currently learning and hasn't killed many times. This is in contrast with a "farm boss", which you know well enough to down on your first try each week, or at least down within a few tries. 

All content is gated by gear. Don't worry about hunting for gear before you're at level 85, because you can't get it before you're level 85. The basic progression is to run normal level 85 dungeons to gear up for heroics, and then run heroic level 85 dungeons to gear up for raid.