Year of the Unfinished Game: A Rambling

ds9143

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By ds9143

So, I'm sitting in the mathematics and computer technology building of my small public university in south-central Pennsylvania. My pre-calc final has been delayed because of bad weather. (I am a first semester sophomore.) So I have some time to kill. Anyways, for the last couple of years Giant Bomb has had a category in the GOTY podcasts for worst trend. I would argue that for 2014 that trend has been companies shipping unfinished games.

The obvious offender is Ubisoft but they are not alone in this practice. I would argue that for as much fun as I have had with Titanfall, it feels like a bare bones package. Even Ben "Yahtzee" Croshaw of Zero Punctuation fame mentions this in his review. EA released a buggy and broken version of Battlefield 4 that is still completely busted for some users. In fact, Far Cry 4, one of my favorite games this year, is completely broken for some people. Patrick mentioned that on PC its been unplayable for him. I was having issues of my own with Far Cry 4 performance up until yesterday with the release of patch 1.5.0.

And don't even get me started on Watch Dogs.

Also, with the big budget games focusing on making the games look "next gen" it seems like the gameplay experience is taking a back seat to fancy art and effects. I would argue that Infamous: Second Son is a step backwards from Infamous 2. It feels like a small game in scope (IMO). Assassin's Creed Unity is another example of removing features, rather than adding new ones. Like Alex Navarro said, the game feels like Assassin's Creed 3, but buggier. Also, think about the bare bones offering that Destiny turned out to be.