New video sizes and formats?

css_switchfoot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By css_switchfoot

I usually download everything I watch on Giantbomb and then pack it up on my Zune to watch somewhere else. I've been doing this for a few years and haven't had any problems.

It looks like the staff changed the sizes of certain videos though and maybe the format? Any video in the past month is a little lager in the "high" quality option and is taking forever to convert and sync. The old format for "high" would just transfer to my Zune in a few seconds, but now its having to convert it. Just wondering what was changed and if there's any way around the conversion?

psylah

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

Yeah, the high-quality videos tend to be closer to a gig now.

TromboneTony

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Yep, I'm in the exact same situation as you. Unfortunately I haven't found a workaround yet.

css_switchfoot

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By css_switchfoot

So it turns out the Mobile format doesn't have to be converted. Does anyone know if there's an actual difference in format between Mobile and Medium?

rchen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#5  Edited By rchen
Brackynews

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 48

#6  Edited By Brackynews

@rchen: I'm ok with the bit rates changing with the times, however I've noticed that the compressor settings for Mobile seem to have changed to drastically lower the quality during motion, whereas they weren't before. If I was encoding them myself, I would think I switched it to 1-pass instead of 2.