#1 Posted by Spoonman671 (4562 posts) -

I've been rolling a dual-wielding, high-dex character with supplemental bow-play for my second playthrough. Things have been going smoothly, but I find this playstyle a little monotonous and feel some minor spellcasting would help keep things interesting. Since Pyromancies have no intelligence or faith requirements for use they seem like the obvious choice, as I don't care to invest much beyond upgrading the Pyromancy Flame.

My first build was a miracle user, but I have no experience with the other spell schools in Dark Souls 2, so I come to you for advice on which pyromancies would serve me best. I imagine Warmth is an obvious, practical choice in this regard, but are there any other spells that could be useful to an idiot heretic like me?

#2 Posted by Zeik (2231 posts) -

Poison and Toxic. Mostly Toxic. I'm pretty sure it's effectiveness is static, so you do not need to worry about scaling, and it can be ridiculously good in this game under the right circumstances.

Flame Swathe is also a good choice if you want something that deals damage. It does scale, but it still does respectable damage even with the bare minimum faith/intelligence.

#3 Edited by Yummylee (21276 posts) -

Flame swathe -- do it! I think Straid is the guy that sells it, and regardless of your stats that thing is a fucking monster. Also Warmth ain't all that.

#4 Edited by StrainedEyes (1322 posts) -

Yes, Fire Swathe. I didn't put points into faith or int and fire swathe does a ton if damage.

#5 Edited by SoldierG654342 (1735 posts) -

@yummylee said:

Flame swathe -- do it! I think Straid is the guy that sells it, and regardless of your stats that thing is a fucking monster. Also Warmth ain't all that.

Flame Swathe straight tears through all pre-Castle bosses and still does respectable damage against the one's afterwards. Be careful with the cast time though. Without the Blue Tearstone ring and high attunement, it's takes a long time to cast.