#1 Posted by bluenag (3 posts) -

I am doing my thesis project on reciprocity and video games, and cant seem to find a certain type of game. The person playing the game needs to be helped by the npc, preferably not just given a suggestion or tip, but a generous amount of help. It needs to be a strong feeling, not just "oh he gave me a sword, how nice!". You need to think "Wow.... that was really nice".The participant would only be playing for 10 minutes, so it can be one event inside a game. Thanks for the help!!!

#2 Edited by Video_Game_King (35829 posts) -

I'm drawing a blank, too. Sounds like there could be something out there, but I dunno. Maybe the hobo from The Walking Dead? The one who's kind of an asshole at first?

#3 Edited by cthomer5000 (734 posts) -

Beyond: Two Souls

The chapter entitled 'Homeless' specifically. That chapter was also the high point of the game for me.

#4 Posted by MormonWarrior (2529 posts) -

I felt personally grateful to Super Mario Galaxy for existing, but otherwise I can't really help you.

#5 Edited by JasonR86 (9587 posts) -

I'm an alcoholic and have been clean for one year now. Games that tap into addiction really get to me and think about my past. Dear Esther and Max Payne III really come to mind right away. They had that effect of both making me feels shame, pride, and happiness all at once even when they were trying for very different emotional reactions simply because I saw myself in those stories.