Backing up Itunes

The_Drizzle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By The_Drizzle

I have around 1000 songs on itunes/amazonmp3, whats a good size of external memory to use to back up music? Also is it pretty simple to back up your hard drive? (I've never done it before)

rawker617

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By rawker617

Go with a simple Western Digital External Harddrive. Mine is 500GB and I just plugged it right in and back up my entire laptop [[which I suggest most]]. If you are in college, sign up for Amazon as a student receive free shipping. If you need anymore information feel free to message me on here and i'll be glad to help you out.

The_Drizzle

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By The_Drizzle

How did you go about about backing your entire laptop? Is that just a clickable option when you plug it in?

rawker617

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By rawker617

Oh, are you running on a Mac or PC?

rawker617

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By rawker617

if you're running Mac OS X 10.6 [[I'm sure you can do it with previous versions, but 10.6 is all I've worked with]] then there is a program called Time Machine. Get an external hard drive [[I'd work with Western Digital but if you have the funds go with LaCie]] and plug it in. Then open up Time Machine and follow the instructions it gives you. From there you can schedule backups, how often to do it and so on. 

If you're running Windows  7 there is a program or option [[probably on the control panel]] called Back Up and Restore. Use that the same way I mentioned before. Plug in the hard drive and then follow the instructions. 

If you're running Windows Vista then it's the same thing as Windows 7. Go to the control panel and click on Backup and Restore Center. 

Hope this helps!

droop

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 7

#6  Edited By droop