#1 Posted by NinjaTard (151 posts) -

Long story short I have a technical writing class and we're supposed to pretend we work for a company and we're writing a recommendation report about something. I picked a scenario of being in a smallish indie game developer and being assigned the task of looking into the various forms of DRM in games and how they work as far as preventing or reducing piracy, as well as how they are received on a fan level, critical level, and on a sales level.

Its kind of a big topic and I'm just getting started so I'm not sure exactly what questions to ask yet (it's due in 2 months) but I know DRM is a hot button issue and is, I believe, generally regarded poorly by gamers. I'm a console gamer myself so I don't pay it much mind other than those single use codes like they put in Saints Row 3 and Assassins Creed: Revelations.

Things that I'd like the community to think about and post for me here:

1)Have you ever found any type of DRM that you weren't infuriated by (Always on connection, online use codes, etc.)?

2) Is there a kind of DRM you wish someone would use (i.e. got a better idea)? .

3) Have you ever honestly NOT bought something because of DRM that you were planning to buy anyway?

4) Do you feel like it helps at all?

So there you go, that's what I'm looking for, or if you have any other information that might be helpful as I'm beginning my quest for the truth behind DRM on behalf of an imaginary boss I made up trying to get an A researching something I have a genuine interest in. THANKS BOMBERS you rule!

#2 Posted by Video_Game_King (34618 posts) -

I don't think I have too strong an opinion on it, since I haven't been affected by it personally. Steam has good DRM, as far as I know.

#3 Edited by Gargantuan (1877 posts) -

1: Yes, it's sometimes annoying, most times the DRM doesn't matter.
2: Developers should use nothing, CD-keys or Steamworks.
3: Nope
4: Nope

#4 Posted by AhmadMetallic (18955 posts) -