Best way to capture retro game footage?

lil_cheeks

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 20

User Lists: 3

Hey guys, I am just getting into recording gameplay and streaming of video games, and I was wondering how people do the retro games? Do people just use emulators? Or are people connecting old systems to their PC's and recording the video in? I have old systems I can use, but i don't have a way to connect them to my PC, so if that is the way to do it, can someone suggest a way to connect systems like the NES and SNES to my PC?

Avatar image for deactivated-601df795ee52f
deactivated-601df795ee52f

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

Emulation is probably the best way, as it's easier and the quality will likely be better as well. You could use a capture card with the SNES since that supports composite cables, but I don't know about the NES.

cornbredx

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 15

#3  Edited By cornbredx

Usually I see people use emulators.

Other than that point a good camera at the TV.

Beyond that, we're getting into expensive territory with tricasters and all kinds of cables and things you'd have to look around for. I don't know of a cheap solution beyond the above to doing this unless you maybe can get a RF to AV converter or something. That might work with video capture equipment, but I'm just speculating. It could also fail miserably or not even exist.

Edit: In the old days we recorded game play onto VHS. Now a days you can do that and then record it over to a DVD. This won't help you stream footage, though, and would limit what you can do.

Avatar image for charlie_victor_bravo
charlie_victor_bravo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 4