Big performance difference with new graphics card?

snakeitachi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By snakeitachi

Hello guys, I have a AMD Radeon 6670 with a AMD FX 4100 Cpu and I was wondering since I am new to pc gaming if I get a 660 ti with my FX 4100 will there be a huge performance difference? Will my FX 4100 3.6 Ghz quad core bottleneck it (660ti) in any way? Thanks! Not to harsh as I have seen many people on the forms and giant bomb isn't the friendliest site it was quite awhile ago.

Icemo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2  Edited By Icemo
AlexW00d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By AlexW00d

That processor won't bottleneck your PC unless you're playing games that are super CPU intensive. ArmA 2, Total War, etc

Avatar image for colourful_hippie
colourful_hippie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#4  Edited By colourful_hippie

You'll get a nice boost but your CPU will begin to drag with games that use up a lot of processing power like open world games.

RazielCuts

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By RazielCuts

@snakeitachi said:

Not to harsh as I have seen many people on the forms and giant bomb isn't the friendliest site it was quite awhile ago.

You catch more with honey than vinegar.

snakeitachi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By snakeitachi

I thank everyone for the advice but it seems mixed so far, i need a definate answer and ill be a bit more specfic i just want to run high end games at 1080p at max graphics. Will the 660ti with the fx 4100 do the job?

snakeitachi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#7  Edited By snakeitachi

@Colourful_Hippie: when you say a ''nice boost'' i hope that means being able to run games at max and at 1080p?

Kidavenger

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 90

User Lists: 33

#8  Edited By Kidavenger