#1 Posted by LadyShayne (131 posts) -

I've been playing D&D for around 6 months now, but it wasn't until last night's game that I realized the divide between digital and analog game players. While leaving the comic book shop someone mentioned for the 50th time about how everyone they knew thought that Dungeons & Dragons was the equivalent of Satanic Worship. We politely chuckled at how ridiculous this assumption was until someone broke the laughter by saying "I mean, if they're going to get mad at something, video games would be a better target." After my mental record scratch and my patient yet annoyed request for him to explain himself, he went to the good ol' canned response of "shooting people in that GTA game is pretty messed up" and another player chiming in with "yeah, and sleeping with prostitutes in cars". Yes, because the twisted scenarios and character relationships they come up with for the game is tame in comparison to something they could see in any R rated movie. And yes, since you can only play as a lawfully and righteously good character in board games, I can see how such hoodlum antics would cause pearl clutching moments (is my sarcasm coming through?). However it was late, and I didn't have the energy to defend the platform of gaming with the same vigor as I do with every other unsuspecting accuser, so I let it slide...this time.   

Which brings me to my question: Is this "video games are worse than us" mentality common among the pen and paper lot, or should I just chalk it up to an age gap (four of the five guys I play with are at least a decade older than me). I'm used to defending video games to people who assume that I don't touch the stuff, but I never thought I would have to do so with people that tout themselves as gamers. Am I overreacting, or is this form of hypocrisy something you guys run into as well?

#2 Posted by Otogi (248 posts) -