Can't do combos, regardless of training. Am I alone?

hencook

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

I'm not asking if you can't execute because you haven't put in the training time. I'm asking if there's other gamers out there, who love fighting games but just cannot perform the required combos.

My cred:

I started playing fighting games back in 01. My execution was horrible. I could never cancel a normal into a super. My light attacks in 2d fighters never held a threat because I could never follow them up with damage. This lead me to lose a lot. I do not know a person that has a higher loss ratio in fighting games than me (before someone tries to snipe that sentence for not being implicit, I mean any gamer that has at least 10 hours of fighting games under their belt). This doesn't necessarily mean I'm hopeless; far from it! By having a huge loss ratio, it means that I've continued to endure (and lose) against a skill level higher than mine, and I still haven't quit.

Now hey, I'm not asking you for a solution. I bought a hitbox stick as soon as I heard about it. It did wonders for me, but I still can't execute higher level combos than short short super. I'm losing less, but I'm still losing a lot. I've played fighters with less execution, like Soul Calibur or Tekken. Tekken's still difficult in the combo department, but Soul Calibur was good! As much as the FGC dislikes Soul Calibur, it was the only game I could really play. SC requires a lot of move list memorization (of your enemies), so after a while of going to tournaments, I just got tired of the game because I didn't really like what it was about. Back to 2D, I've had my huge share of training combos for hours on end as well, but for every 3 hours I put into a combo, an average fighting gamer would probably only need to put 15 minutes in... and I still can't execute essential combos 9/10 times.