Choosing parts to build my first PC

Hunter5024

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 9

#1  Edited By Hunter5024

I've only owned one desktop in my life, a gateway that I bought from Best Buy in late 06. Other than putting some extra ram in there, and replacing the video card, I have no experience picking parts or building a PC. It's well past time for me to upgrade though, and I've been doing a little research and reading reviews for stuff trying to figure out what to get. Because I know so little, I was hoping to get some advice from you duders. In terms of cost, I intend to buy this thing a part at a time, so I don't really care how expensive it gets. The only problem I can foresee is paying for the bigger parts, because it may be hard to get enough money together at one time. Obviously I wouldn't mind saving money where I can.

As far as gaming goes, I intend to use this machine for every PC exclusive game over the next several years, and I'd like it to run these games decently, but I don't really mind using lower settings in the future. I also intend to use this PC for some hobbyist game design. I mostly use Flash, but I'd also like to try out Unity, so I need it to run both of those programs capably. I may decide I want to run similar but slightly more intensive programs later on as well so I'd like to build for that scenario. Also I need it to have an HDMI port so I can hook it up to my tv. Other than that my only desire is for this thing to be as fast as possible, because I'm incredibly impatient.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4770K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor Decided to go for the i7.

CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14 65.0 CFM CPU Cooler Switched from liquid to air, since air is apparently quieter, and from what I've heard easy to set up.

Motherboard: Asus Z87-A ATX LGA1150 Motherboard I know nothing about motherboards. I've heard Asus is a good brand, that is why I picked this one.