Dreamcast worth picking up?

Barrock

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By Barrock

I never purchased a Dreamcast so I've had very little experience with its library of games. Would it be worth picking up a used Dreamcast to experience the games? Do they hold up over time? Or should I wait and see if they release the titles to Xbox Live or PSN?

Pazy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#2  Edited By Pazy

I would say so, you can get a Dreamcast fairly cheap (The last I checked on Ebay in the UK it was £40 which is the price of a new game) and some of the games hold up really well. Some of them dont hold up just as well, as the Dreamcast Quick Looks would tell you, but theres enough really fun games to be worth it. Sadly though the online dosent really work anymore, even if you get the broadband adaptor (since I assume you dont have dial up) theres apparently only 3 games that work on it anymore and they are not really played.

Basically id say if you can get it cheap its easily worth it :)

EDIT: Oh I forgot that you can still play PSO online with a fair amount of players. If you get the broadband adaptor (or use the normal dial up if can) you can changed a couple of the settings and connect to a private server (which is essentially legal since when Sega Japan closed their server they gave them the data for it) which has a bunch of people playing and all the content supported on Dreamcast (and more if you download the free Blue Burst PC Client).

Barrock

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Barrock

Hmm, well if I do get one what would be the essentials? Skies of Arcadia, Sonic 1&2, Power Stone 1&2, and Marvel Vs. Capcom are definitely on my mind.

FunExplosions

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By FunExplosions