#1 Posted by cosi83 (392 posts) -

I have been playing games for twenty years but turn based and the FF games never really caught my interest. Only Devil Survivor on the DS did i complete

A bunch of FF games are on sale on PSN. So I'm asking if you FF fans think this game will hold up today or should I wait on a possible revamp?

On a related note, Dragons Dogma is the best game of the year! Eh...guess it's not really that related but I had to get that out there!

#2 Posted by mosespippy (4043 posts) -

I first played it in 2005 and I can still go back to it so I think it holds up. The issue with FF7 is that a lot of people find it starts slow and they don't like it due to that first impression. I certainly had trouble at the start (since it was my first RPG). The manual (which is viewable on the PSN version) has a walkthrough up to the first boss and without that I probably wouldn't have made it past the opening act. I feel like you need a good 4 or 5 hours uninterrupted to start that game off.

#3 Edited by Bourbon_Warrior (4523 posts) -

Bargain at that price. People say the graphics are bad but I disagree, the hand painted backgrounds and towns still look great. And if you got a PSP its great for that. The intro to the game is fantastic, I remember playing it in 1999 for the first time, spent like 10 hours in the first city thinking this was were the whole game took place, then finding out there was a whole world outside the city really blew my fucking mind at the time.

#4 Edited by Brad (2875 posts) -

Might be worth waiting for that new PC version to see how improved it is, but then again, for that price you could just get both.

@Bourbon_Warrior said:

Bargain at that price. People say the graphics are bad but I disagree, the hand painted backgrounds and towns still look great. And if you got a PSP its great for that.

All the backgrounds are CG, unless there's something I'm forgetting.

Staff
#5 Posted by SethPhotopoulos (5117 posts) -