• 178 results
#1 Edited by BlackLantern (6 posts) -

I'm new to Giant Bomb. Here's my first impression of the videos and website (I know the fanboys are going to flip shit, but I'm sure the site creators appreciate honesty):

These videos are entirely too long. How is 35 minutes anywhere near a quick look? We could decide in 20 minutes of playing a demo if I like the game or not. I found my brain screaming for you guys to get to the point, and show me some actual gameplay footage.

Furthermore, upon signing up for a username, I've already been asked three times to upgrade my membership to premium, without giving any reason as to why I should do so. There was even a frowney face emoticon to guilt me into it. $15 credit? To What? An online store you offer, I assume, but what is offered? Games? Then, upon returning to the video, I learn that only premium members have access to HD, which YouTube offers free of charge. So far, this site has all the charm of a Free-To-Play social game, like Farmville. I'm sure I have the entire point of the website wrong, but this was my experience... And I really don't see what all the hype is about. I understand the creators left Gamespot or some other big review website, due (at least, in part) to paid advertisers getting favorable reviews, which is great. I applaud your integrity on that matter. Yet, somehow, your new, "better" website is headed down another slimey business model path.

#2 Posted by Willin (1280 posts) -

Don't like it, don't eat.

#3 Posted by XenoNick (1408 posts) -

@Willin said:

#4 Edited by dungbootle (2457 posts) -

I hope they fix/get rid of the alignment system soon, I don't like how it defaults new users to a color other than gray (specifically, it starts off green).

Or am I just imagining it? They didn't prompt me to choose a color when I registered 2+ years ago and I don't know if that has changed or not. At least, all the new spam accounts are always green.

#5 Posted by Mister_V (1282 posts) -