#1 Posted by Nate (705 posts) -

I'm a teacher and I'm hoping to get a group of 15 of my high school students a sort of an interview with a game developer. These students are interested in game development and I just thought it would be good for them to get advice from someone in the field. I'm thinking we'll probably just try to skype with someone for 20-30 minutes and pick their brain. Does anyone have any idea of who might be good? Obviously someone too far up the dev heirarchy might be a little hard to get, so I'm setting my sights a little lower. But not really sure where to start . . .

#2 Posted by Miketakon (514 posts) -

David Jaffe and Gabe Newell

#3 Posted by Turtlebird95 (2497 posts) -

Cliffy B!

#4 Posted by bvilleneuve (265 posts) -

First off, this is awesome. These are some of the most powerful experiences your students can have.

With that said, you might be surprised by who you could get. Somebody like Gabe Newell has been known to respond personally to emails, and it might be feasible that he'd give some of his time to help inspire the next generation of development talent. Aside from that, you could see if somebody from Double Fine might give some time to you. But other than higher-ups, there's been a flood in the past five or six years of independent talent, and they could inspire your students to start making games with the tools in front of them instead of waiting until they can get a position in the big games industry. There are a bunch of people you could go to for this. Erin Robinson is a great example of a woman who's seen success in indie games, and a good trick might be to look through different bundles (Humble Indie Bundle, Indie Royale, etc.) for who contributed games to those and then contact some of those people.

Good luck!

#5 Posted by JasonR86 (9744 posts) -

@Miketakon said:

David Jaffe and Gabe Newell

@Turtlebird95 said:

Cliffy B!