Games vs. Depression [Highlighting Mental Health]

dannyodwyer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 2

Edited By dannyodwyer  Staff

I've been chipping away on this video for about two months, and now I've spent the past 24 hours whoring it out to people. But it's worth it considering the subject matter.

I've suffered from depression and OCD at various points throughout my life, and have often used games as a coping mechanism. When I played Depression Quest on a GameSpot livestream a few months ago, we got like, almost a hundred emails and twitter messages from people who wanted more discussion around the topic. So together with the help of random internet people I put together this mini-doc about the links between games and mental health issues. It's sad that we still feel weird about talking about this stuff, but I'm hoping this will encourage a handful of people into opening up, and eventually looking for help.

Have any of you guys ever used games as a crutch to get through depression?

deanoxd

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By deanoxd

Well done Sir. Its good see someone help bring these subjects out in to the open. And i have defiantly used games to escape at times in my life. Not sure if it was because i was depressed or just needed to escape maybe both but never really truly thought about it to seriously.

AssInAss

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By AssInAss

@dannyodwyer This was super great, thanks.

My mother glanced over as I was watching this, and got a little choked up at the end.

Was cool to see Alexander Bruce, he's mentioned the highs and lows of making Antichamber for quite a while now. Some inspiring words there from everyone involved (Lucy looks like Jennifer Lawrence :P). RPGs with their mini goals does help to apply to real life, where if I can just get out of bed and get groceries, I feel good about myself.