#1 Posted by S0ndor (2716 posts) -

Hey there guys, everything in this topic is PC related.

The last time I saw Gamespy being used for online gaming was back when I was still playing the first Star Wars: Battlefront. I remember having tonnes of issues with latency and random disconnections. It was so bad that I couldn't sit in the gunner seat of any tank, the camera was just violently warping all over the place at 3 fps and I couldn't see shit. 

When I heard that this shitty service was coming to Crysis 2, I was absolutely appalled. How could anyone think this is a good idea? So great was my disgust that I didn't download the demo until yesterday, when my curiosity finally got the better of me. Then I started playing... 

• Server browser is absolute shit, no filters, no nothing.
  • It is incapable of displaying accurate ping information, it just says 0 for everything, even for US servers (I'm in The Netherlands).
  • It always says that servers are full, even when they are clearly not. Saw a server that was 6/12 for 5 minutes.
  • No refresh button?
  • The server names keep jumping around all over the place, periodically disappearing completely, making it difficult to double-click on anything.
  • When you finally manage to get into a lobby they often lack a countdown timer, meaning that you just sit there in the lobby for all eternity without getting into any games.
  • If you finally manage to get into a game you often experience random disconnect issues.
  • When you are disconnected you are automatically logged out of your account.

So yeah, right now I've tried to join around a hundred games and have only completed 3-4 rounds. It's worth pointing out that once I got into a game I experienced absolutely no lag, just random disconnects. Now I realise that at least a few of these issues are Crytek's own damn fault, but surely not all of them.

What say you GB community?
#2 Posted by phrosnite (3518 posts) -