#1 Posted by Buble (76 posts) -

Hi guys,

As the title says I am a grad student interested in studying how copyright (orphan-works and emerging DRM specifically) is applied to entertainment software. Basically what I am trying to get at is this industry advances so rapidly that the laws on the books are becoming increasingly incapable of working as intended.

I am just looking to brainstorm a bit about, as users, what are your concerns moving forward? Ideally copyright laws are meant to balance the rights of the CR owner with those of the user.

Also if anyone could point me to some interviews hosted on this site that might be useful for my research. I already have cited Brad's interview with the dude that makes his living designing gear for DotA 2. Also I heard Patrick mentioned on a older Bombcast that he has interviewed vetern game designers about ROMS if anyone can link that to me big ups.

Typed this out on my phone so sorry if it isn't super clear also feel free to send me any PM's

Thanks guys

#2 Edited by joshwent (2207 posts) -

@buble: I think a big part of the frustration is how little DRM seems to have to do with copyright itself. The copyright laws that exist are already applicable to the elements of a game (art, sound, story, even programming, etc.) which prevent others from infringing on intellectual property. DRM, however, seems to be exclusively applied to prevent piracy. They're not concerned with people stealing assets of a game, they're concerned with people stealing the game itself.

It becomes increasingly complicated when that theft is anonymous and largely untraceable. If I illegally download a game right now, the publisher has to do a ton of work to even find out, and even then the evidence is questionable enough to make criminal charges practically useless.