Has makeing a game appeal to a broader audience ever worked?

JZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By JZ

Has Game devs changeing a game to appeal to a broader audience ever worked? You'd think they'd stop doing it by now.

landon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By landon

Jak 2?

JZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By JZ

I don't think that really fits

John1912

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#4  Edited By John1912

Id say it worked for skyrim.

Lazlow

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#5  Edited By Lazlow

I guess it depends if you mean critically or commercially. They probably don't always tend to rate as high as older titles in a series that are 'true to their roots'. But commercially it must be a viable strategy. Didn't resident evil 6 sell some crazy amount? I'm a huge resident evil fan and I still haven't picked that up

ll_Exile_ll

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 2

#6  Edited By ll_Exile_ll

Bethesda seems the best at this. From Morrowind through Skyrim, each of their games sold more than the last. However, they are actually good at balancing accessible features and keeping the core concepts intact. They know the difference between streamlining and dumbing down. If you are talking about blatantly terrible changes of direction a la Dragon Age II, I doubt that has ever worked.

JZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#7  Edited By JZ

Nah skyrim was a natural evolution. I'm thinking out resident evil and dead space becoming full action games, or every mmo being wow. Then there's dragon age 2 and the like.

Avatar image for lapsariangiraff
lapsariangiraff

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#8  Edited By lapsariangiraff

It's hit or miss. Sometimes it works really well (Resident Evil 4/Splinter Cell Conviction IMO) but lately it hasn't worked out.

Avatar image for sathingtonwaltz
SathingtonWaltz