have you ever had to learn another languge to play a game?

Tomzombie

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 3

#1  Edited By Tomzombie

i bought Metro 2033  in the humble bundle and i started playing the game in russian with english subtiles. But i can't understand a word most NPCs are saying so i have started to learn the russian language just help understand what people are say. 

Any one else have a experience with a game like that.

zeforgotten

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 1

#2  Edited By zeforgotten

Not because of a game but it sure helped that my english teacher taught everyone english. 
Makes it a whole lot easier when playing most games and watching movies and listening to music. 

But no, I never had to learn Russian for Metro 2033. I do play it with Russian voices on though because then it's like I'm totally a stranger in moscow.

Avatar image for equitasinvictus
EquitasInvictus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 1

#3  Edited By EquitasInvictus

In the process of learning Japanese for a whole bunch of reasons. Waiting for localizations is too much for me (a la PSO2) so trying to guess my way through some games like PSO2 that can get pretty text heavy at points was becoming a fool's errand.

The next time a really cool game from Japan comes out and it seems like it's not getting localized anytime soon, I need to be ready!

Ares42

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 0

#4  Edited By Ares42

For non-English speakers this is probably pretty common. We started learning English in school at the age of 9 or 10 I think, but I had already been playing text heavy games (like Sierra adventure games) since I was 6 or 7.

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#5  Edited By Justin258