• 92 results
#1 Posted by DoctorObviously (2 posts) -

Hi everyone, I'm completely new here and I'm writing this little bit here down so that I don't look like a spammer (1 comment may be suspicious already). I made an account because I've heard that this is a great community, so I'm looking forward to meeting some wonderful people :)

So here's my question:

I've been gaming since I was five years old and when I stopped to think about it today, I've noticed I actually have made zero friends over the course of sixteen years via the use of video games. Oh sure, I have played with plenty of people whom I've gotten along with, but I've actually never had made a real friend through gaming. Now, my definition of having a friend is quite old-fashioned. Today's Facebook-based society allows you to have exactly one thousand friends with one thousand clicks of the mouse. For me, that doesn't cut it. The weird thing is that I find myself quite easy to talk to and talkative in return, so arguments or questions are never a one-way street.

Maybe it's also relevant to mention that I don't really like multiplayer games. In sixteen years of gaming, there are only a literal handful of games that I can point at and play at my heart's content. I usually like single-player experience, pretty much for the same reasons of Ben 'Yahtzee' Croshaw. I find players in competitive and even co-operative games to be either harassing assholes (i.e. StarCraft II) or the fleshshields who pick up all your ammo and health (i.e. any badly designed co-op game).

When it comes down to it, my question to you is:

1) Have you made any REAL friends through gaming (in any form of gaming)?

2) If yes, under what circumstances did you find this person? (i.e. how did you meet this person / people)

#2 Edited by Ravelle (1404 posts) -

Welcome to Giant Bomb dude!
It's a great community and we have guilds and groups in most online games so you'll find always someone to play with. :)