Have your gaming habits changed as you got older?

• 61 results
dobedobedo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hey guys,
I frequently come to this site but rarely come on the forums. I'm sure this topic has been done before, so I apologize ahead of time for bringing it up again.

Growing up, I always played a large variety of games and had more patience with them. I have a large library of 360, ps3 and wii games because I was always willing to check out whatever game looked cool. Once I graduated college and moved on to a full time job, I find it so much harder to get into games these days.

Back then, if I bought a game and it wasn't really grasping me at the beginning, I still gave it a couple of hours to see if it got better or I'd just finish it so I wouldn't feel like I wasted my money. These days I have so little patience with games. If I can't get into a game within the first hour or so, I usually just give up on it and move on to the next one.

I think maybe it's just the lack of time. Since I have so little time to play, I'd rather shove aside games that frustrate me or don't impress me right away and stick to the ones I know I can play for hours on end.

I find that the only games I can stick to are long 100+ hour RPGs or the small indie games that take 2-4 hours to complete. I also would rather go back and play old games. I would much rather do 2-3 back to back playthroughs of Streets of Rage 2 with a friend than play 30 minutes of Wolfenstein The New Order. Or a full playthrough of Arkham Asylum and Half Life 2 rather than five minutes of Assassin's Creed Unity.

Anyone else feel they have less patience with games as they got older or started working full time?

csl316

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 10

It's been weird. Some weeks I'll play nothing, others I'll do 15 hours.