hey creators! do you like your old stuff?

super2j

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#1  Edited By super2j

I am not a musician in any sense but when I am inspired I will hack away on my actual keyboard and try to recreate what ever was in my head but I digress. In any case, after I am done with the tracks, I usually am mixed with feelings of pride for it sounding amazing and at the same time, disgust for it sounding like garbage. So today going back and listening to all my stuff (because I got a guy who commented "awesome" :D on soundcloud), I was actually pretty happy and almost impressed by how good some of my stuff was, and I feel like this is not the first time I have had this happen. On the other hand, with my photoshops, I have no such love, maybe that is because those are not from scratch?

EDIT: hey mod's I forgot to set this thread into off topic... help?

Fredchuckdave

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

Ask Noah

TruthTellah

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By TruthTellah

@super2j: Sure. Though, it's normal for an artist to notice more of a work's flaws and perhaps internalize them in a way that makes someone more inclined to think ill of their work. An artist is commonly their biggest critic. Ultimately, it's like looking at past versions of yourself. They're pieces of what make you who you are, and that isn't always a picture you fully like. And sometimes you've just changed so much that who you used to be seems alien to you.

But then, as in your case, sometimes you can reflect back on the past and appreciate it for what was good. And that is often how creations are perceived over time by their creator.

alistercat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 27

Nope.

Fredchuckdave

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers