Identifying with your avatar... questions for a study

LinleyWoodOwl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By LinleyWoodOwl

Hello, I'm a doctoral student doing research on avatar identity and gender.

Per the posting rules, I hope this is not considered soliciting.

I appreciate the level of depth that comes from the threads at Giant Bomb, and thought I would ask a few questions here myself.

Please feel free to answer (or not answer) any of the following. I would appreciate any involvement.

1) How much do you tend to identify with your avatar?

2) How does this change depending on:

1st person vs. 3rd person?

Main vs. Alt?

Your own gender vs. opposite gender?

Human vs. nonhuman character?

Single player vs. MMO vs. Co-Op?

First playthrough vs. subsequent playthroughs?

3) Any other comments about avatar identity you would like to share?

If you have any questions or are interested in seeing what comes of the research, please message me.

If any comments are used in an academic forum, I will contact the respondents involved.

Thanks for your participation!

Clonedzero

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

My avatar is batman, because I AM BATMAN!

rahulricky

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6

game avatar or forum avatar?

LinleyWoodOwl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Avatar image for alwaysbebombing
alwaysbebombing

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

You should really ask furries this question. You'll get all kinds of fun answers.

AyKay_47

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

The format you provided kinda makes it a little difficult to answer this. For example, I'm not sure what you mean by identify. Are you asking if I insert myself or my personality into my characters? Or if I just feel like "this is who I'd want to be if I lived in this world"? Also, I'll assume you mean custom characters, and not something like Bioshock's Booker or Marcus from Gears of War.