is screen tearing while gaming on an HDTV common?

Avatar image for gristlemcthornbody
GristleMcThornbody

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

My friend just bought a pretty sweet 40" Samsung for 999 and set up his 360 on it with an HDMI cable.  He did a lot of research and as far as I know he picked a tv with a very low update lag and a high refresh rate.  He set the tv to "game mode" and popped in Force Unleashed and it looked amazing, except for some quite noticeable screen tearing whenever there was a big change in the camera angle.  We played a little AC and there seemed to be a lot less tearing.  I use a SD 27" flat screen so Im not used to seeing tearing like this. 

What's your experience with this issue?
 Is this common when gaming in HD?  is this just a matter of adjusting some settings on the tv and/or 360?  is screen tearing an issue with the game itself and not the hardware?

Valames

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Yep

I am no expert, but I do believe the issue is with the game.

GristleMcThornbody

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

So you dont come across screen tearing often when you play on HDTV?

Diamond

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 4

#4  Edited By Diamond

I don't notice it much, but my friends says whenever he uses the HDMI cable on 360 tearing goes WAY up.  I've heard that can be a problem.

He should try maybe using component cables.  Remember HDMI was added to 360 after launch.  Neither of my 360s have a HDMI port at all.

CoverlessTech

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By CoverlessTech

Tearing usually isn't a screen based thing. It's usually because of the game and or hardware running the game. 

Shadowsquire

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6  Edited By Shadowsquire