Learning Computer Science to enhance gaming experience

jpon87

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

So I have a couple friends that are really into PC gaming and I want to start to learn a bit about computers in general. I have a BS in Biochemistry so I have some background in science but never really ventured into computer science. After college I began getting back into video games but now have a wider interest in the industry(which initially led me to GiantBomb) and want to learn more about computers in general from putting them together and the complexity of the specific parts that make it up as a whole. I also want to learn about the programming/coding side as well so I can efficiently interact with my hardware. I've started reading a little about using Unix but I wasn't sure if there was a better place to start. Any help for a starting point for somebody with a science background, but not completely related to computers. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

SSully

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 3

#2  Edited By SSully

What you are describing isn't exactly computer science and computer science won't enhance your gaming experience in any way. Learning how to build a computer is honestly just an advanced set of lego's these days. If you are talking about actually learning how the various parts work, then there is plenty to read to learn the basic's. Still, knowing how a CPU actually works, or how the OS organizes computer cycle's literally adds no value to your gaming experience.

Also learning programming won't help you "efficiently interact" with your hardware. Learning programming will teach you how software is built and lead you to creating your own. When it comes to being a computer user, in this case gaming, programming experience doesn't really do much to enhance anything. You just have a better idea about what is actually going on, but without much benefit.