#1 Posted by Demoskinos (16182 posts) -

So I was bored at work today so I googled my username today just for giggles to see what came up. As I figured my Giantbomb profile and Xbox ECT were all top results then on the second page of results I saw a listing for a site called MRKK.org and it straight up is GiantBomb. I dont think it is just a redirect or something either as Im logged in on my phone. I think this goes way beyond using the API just wanted to bring it to attention. Not sure if anyone is going to care or whatever but figured Id give a heads up anyways.

#2 Edited by falserelic (5721 posts) -

Its giantbomb's twin brother..


I guess the copyright law would work perfect for this.....

#3 Edited by Blu3V3nom07 (4192 posts) -

Oh, God damn that's creepy to see my twin.. self.

Fucked up, creepy.

Also wtf, "uh-mer-kkuh" .org?

#4 Edited by Stonyman65 (3012 posts) -

I don't think it's a rip off as much as it is a complete copy. Everything is updated to the minute.

It's a different domain but..... everything is the same.

Did anyone inform the staff of this?

Edit: Just sent a message to support.

#5 Posted by Demoskinos (16182 posts) -

@stonyman65: Exactly why I brought it up. If someone could tag Rorie that be great. Im on mobile ATM.

#6 Posted by jimmyfenix (3941 posts) -

woah someone should email the mods or staff.

#7 Edited by Monkeyman04 (1443 posts) -

@rorie should take a look at this.

#8 Posted by falserelic (5721 posts) -

Yeah, rorie should have a look see..

#10 Posted by Scullinator (550 posts) -

You know what it doesnt have... are the adds. For a non paid member its add free.

#11 Posted by Demoskinos (16182 posts) -
#12 Posted by deathstriker666 (1349 posts) -

Yeah, a little weird. I don't think a proxy used by CBS would be hosting it on a server called "buy.internettrafic.com".

#13 Posted by Scullinator (550 posts) -

Its a little behind too. Only the first two posts are showing up there from this thread.

#14 Edited by L1GHTN1N (710 posts) -

How about the part where the tab in Chrome says "Giant Bomb - Video Game Reviews, video, forums and wiki"? This is some shady stuff...

#15 Edited by Lego_My_Eggo (1077 posts) -

I liked it better when they had purple text and translated everything into Russian.

#16 Posted by falserelic (5721 posts) -

Its funny, so now they know that the people on the real GB is aware of them. Its like the twilight zone of inception.

#17 Posted by darkvare (813 posts) -

maybe is giantbombs backup files just in case the site dies

#18 Posted by dungbootle (2501 posts) -

Top men, help!

#19 Edited by Viking_Funeral (2093 posts) -

@darkvare said:

maybe is giantbombs backup files just in case the site dies

Made public? Nah, this is something weird.

#20 Posted by firecracker22 (573 posts) -

Or it's a window into a parallel dimension.

Where all of our other selves are barbaric and have goatees....

#21 Edited by Rorie (3343 posts) -

Thanks, I passed along a note to our legal department. We'll look into it.

#22 Edited by ArtelinaRose (1900 posts) -

This is clearly the work of Rival Video Game Website.

#23 Posted by Excast (1143 posts) -

Shadow Rorie is preparing a lawsuit against Giantbomb.

#24 Posted by Demoskinos (16182 posts) -

Release the CBSi hounds of justice!

#25 Posted by falserelic (5721 posts) -

GB justice will soon prevail and all will fall. Its doppelganger is going down.

#26 Posted by CollegeGuyMike (395 posts) -

What is even going on.

#27 Posted by ThunderSlash (2224 posts) -

@firecracker22: Oh god you fucking scared me. Please change your avatar.

#28 Posted by falserelic (5721 posts) -

What is even going on.

A hollow of GB is trying to take over, but it won't happen.

#29 Posted by OurSin_360 (992 posts) -

my guess, fake site to get people to type in passwords

#30 Posted by MetalGearSunny (7465 posts) -
Loading Video...

#31 Posted by Cerberus3Dog (535 posts) -

Hello over there! ... (waiting for my echo)

#32 Posted by insane_shadowblade85 (1620 posts) -

I just sent this thread to Rorie on twitter, he says their legal team is on it.

#33 Edited by TyCobb (2000 posts) -

Whatever you do, don't click the store page. "storegiantbomb.zlxx.org" shows up in the status bar when hovering over the link.

#34 Posted by TechHits (1483 posts) -

I don't even...

#35 Edited by Hunter5024 (6289 posts) -

I bet that's where the lawful evil version of Hunter5024 lives.

#36 Posted by kagato (1029 posts) -

oh god...its like standing between two mirrors and realising that version of you that you can barely make out way in the distance is moving on its own....

#37 Posted by Stonyman65 (3012 posts) -

Loading Video...

I love you for posting this.

Seriously. That made my day. Thanks dude!

#38 Edited by GunslingerPanda (5029 posts) -

Oohhhhh, I think I now what this might be. A while ago somebody mentioned a method of accessing premium content without being a subscriber, I'd throw out a guess that this is what they were talking about. That's real scummy.

E: Nevermind, I tested it and it won't let me view any subscriber videos.

@scullinator said:

You know what it doesnt have... are the adds. For a non paid member its add free.

#39 Edited by mmzOne (285 posts) -

@tycobb said:

Whatever you do, don't click the store page. "storegiantbomb.zlxx.org" shows up in the status bar when hovering over the link.

I was just checking the source code for that fake site and it does some weird redirection.For example if you login on real GB you go to "auth.giantbomb.com/login", on a fake site it goes to "authgiantbomb.cdgames.org/login". It also have some other weird sites weaved into it zlxx.org, chitika.net, forumbuy.org etc.

#40 Posted by alternate (2789 posts) -

I don't see the end game of the scam. They could harvest passwords if people log on or money if they buy from a fake store - but it isn't like anyone is going to stumble across the site by accident (expect that one dude who made this topic).

#41 Posted by Coolarman (988 posts) -
#42 Posted by BeachThunder (13065 posts) -

Fuck! Ryan Davis even died in the alternate timeline ;__;

#43 Edited by Megasoum (381 posts) -

Too bad they don't have the videos, maybe it would work better than on here.

#44 Edited by GorillaMoPena (2609 posts) -

Someone call Clippy

#45 Posted by BaneFireLord (3082 posts) -

This is real, real weird.

#46 Edited by Dagbiker (7022 posts) -

On July 16, 2013 the internet gained self awareness...

Fuck! Ryan Davis even died in the alternate timeline ;__;

What happened, happened; Jack.

#47 Edited by wiggle987 (16 posts) -
#48 Posted by crusader8463 (14744 posts) -

And now everyone that went to the link probably has a virus.

#49 Edited by MentalDisruption (1722 posts) -

I'm only willing to meet shadow me if I get a persona out of it.

#50 Posted by jimmyfenix (3941 posts) -

oh shit Cbs legal team is going to run ruckus !