Posted by yoshisaur (2646 posts) -

Hey there Duders,

I'm returning to college this semester (already started) and pursuing my Bachelor's in Mechanical Engineering. One of the class requirements in my third semester is a computer capable of running CAD and other software needed for the career. I know I don't need a super-computer or anything, but I felt this was a great time to upgrade my current computer for gaming as well (and use them in tandem). I've never built a computer before, so I've been running around Newegg with "best rating" applied without much knowledge of each part. This is where this wonderful community comes in! If you could check out this PC build and tell me if there is are any pieces that don't fit, aren't the best bang for my buck, or you know of something better, I would really appreciate it.

I'm working with a $1,500 (before taxes and shipping) budget and cannot really go much higher. If possible, any help or advice needs to stay in that range unless there is something really fantastical and worth an extra pay-check or two to save up for.

*Note: I do not plan to play with SLI or O/C unless I feel comfortable with it. Most of my parts will focus on a casual approach to a computer that is mainly just for gaming and hopefully as much future-proofing as possible. Also, I'm not really interested in any pre-built computers! Thanks :).

Thanks in advance, everyone!

BUILD:

* I have a seperate HDD I already own, the SDD is simply for the OS and a couple of programs I'll be running for school.

** Is there a point to getting a sound-card? I didn't include one as I've never actually used one before

*** Is wire-less included in this build or do I need to find a seperate wire-less card?

Please feel free to critique and throw your advice at me! This is my first computer build and I'm excited, but I don't want to run into any holds if it's possible not to!

Thanks duders!

#1 Posted by yoshisaur (2646 posts) -

Hey there Duders,