Need insight into these RPGs!

majormitch

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 119

User Lists: 31

Hey fellow bombers! I've been sifting through my backlog as I periodically do, and need some help with some big RPGs I have no real knowledge of. They ended up on my list because they were well received, and exist in genres I've typically liked. However, being extremely long RPGs, and that I have little time to tackle this stuff, it would be helpful to know more about these games when prioritizing. That's where you knowledgeable folks come in :)

For each of these games, could someone who's played them explain a little about what makes them stand out compared to other seemingly similar RPGs? That is, what's the hook for these games, and what could make them worth playing (or not worth playing as the case may be) if I've played a lot of other RPGs? For the older games, another question is how well do they hold up? I know this is a weird list, but thanks in advance for any insight!

Dark Cloud 2
Lunar: Silver Star
Skies of Arcadia Legends
Tales of Vesperia (the only Tales game I've played is Symphonia, but Vesperia is regularly cited as one of the best- I assume it's pretty similar?)
Ultima series (never played any of them, so a secondary question would be which one to try)
Xenogears
Grandia
Legend of Heroes (I know there's the Trails in the Sky and Trails of Cold Steel subseries, so any insight into those differences is also appreciated)
Lost Odyssey
Ogre Battle 64 (I've played Tactics Ogre games before (Knight of Lodis and Let Us Cling Together), is this pretty similar?)
Valkyrie Profile

Efesell

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0