Need some quick help with something...

SerHulse

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 11

Poll Need some quick help with something... (64 votes)

A is better 59%
B is better 33%
They are comparable 8%

Hey guys,

I'm in my final year of university and I am currently finishing my dissertation, to help me write it I need a question answered:

Take a look at these 2 images and answer the poll based on your snap judgement, I will explain more about each image later in this post, it would be better if this information doesn't effect your choice.

I would however ask if you could ignore the different qualities of the images and focus on the quality of the terrain itself...

Now hopefully you have answered the poll before reading this, but here is some extra info so you know what it is you have just voted on:

For my dissertation I am looking at the differences and advantages/disadvantages between manual generation and procedural generation for video games. I am focusing on terrain and other art assets.

To demonstrate one aspect of this difference I am trying to show that you can procedurally generate terrain that looks just as good as something created by hand.

The first of the two images, image 'A' was created by myself in 3DSMax and Mudbox (I am clearly no artist), the second image, 'B' is being procedurally generated in an engine called OGRE from a random height map, I have no control over how it looks.

Some fun facts:

• 'A' is ~450MB, 'B' is ~19MB
  • 'A' took me ~4 hours to create, 'B' took 10 seconds

Thank you for participating!

Any further comments you would like to make regarding this would be very welcome, I may even quote you in my report!

- Dan.

• 
MooseyMcMan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 13

I went with A. I liked the looks of it better.

FluxWaveZ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 6