Avatar image for deactivated-64bc6edfbd9ee
deactivated-64bc6edfbd9ee

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Hello,

So I'm a big tabletop gamer. In recent months, I've been getting into minis games like Dust Tactics, Malifaux, and Dystopian Wars.

Unfortunately, I'm not good at strategy, so I figured maybe playing some strategy games might help. For those unfamiliar with these games, they're pretty much turn based games.

Parameters:

I have a 3ds, PC, and PS2. Please suggest games for these platforms if possible.

I'd like to play something on the lines of accessible/newbie gentle.

I'd prefer turn based if possible, but will consider RTS if on a lower level than Starcraft. Last time I tried it, it wasn't pretty.

Aside from that, I look forward to anyone's suggestions.

inkerman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 2

Galactic Civilizations II - A turn based space strategy game, which IMO is really good. Has lots of mechanics and features, but not so much or so complex that they'd overwhelm a new player.

Men of War - A tactical RTS that IMO is one of the finest ever made. No base building, just controling soldiers on the battlefield, but very in depth.

Total War - Very player friendly mix of turn based and RTS games, as a tabletop gamer you'd probably be most comfortable with one of these games.

Civilization V - Of course also almost goes without saying.

BBAlpert

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 16

#3  Edited By BBAlpert

@inkerman's suggestions are all solid (thought maybe a little higher level than you're looking for). I thought about being a dick and recommending something like Hearts of Iron II, but I'd feel bad if you tried that, got completely discouraged, and gave up on strategy games altogether.