Patent Troll Podcast Lawsuit

r3beld0gg

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By r3beld0gg

NOTE: Edited and reposted, hopefully to remove something in here the mod didn't like. Still think the subject is worth talking about. This isn't about Carolla or his specific lawsuit, but the patent troll and misuse of the judicial system. I'm not trying to post spam.

I'm a truck driver. As such, I listen to a LOT of podcasts. Probably a lot more than the average person. I won't put a bunch of detail here as I'm sure most of you here are savy enough to look this up on your own, but basically there is a jerk claiming a patent on all of podcasting. Letters are being sent out demanding royalties. Adam Carolla is currently being sued (Carolla Digital hosts several podcasts, namely The Adam Carolla Show and Penn's Sunday School.)

The main fear for me here is of slimy lawyers using our broken judicial system to potentially hurt small and medium sized podcasters. People who can't afford to go to court, who either pay out or simply say "fuck it" and shut down.

The claim these guys have on "podcasting" is tenuous at best, but if no one fights them in court then they will continue to be able to prey on smaller game. Apparently they've already sued Apple multiple times on the same patent claim, saying they also own the concept of a "playlist."

Here's a link to one story, or just Google "podcast lawsuit" or something like that.

Spread the word out about this. It's fucked up and I hope people are talking about it. I remember the mess years ago when guitar tab sites were getting shut down by being threatened with mostly bullshit lawsuits by people who could afford it. As a musician, that was really shitty. I don't want to see smaller podcasters just crap out rather than fight a lawsuit.

KillEm_Dafoe

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

User Lists: 6