#1 Posted by DazbotAthertron (875 posts) -

Being a programmer, I am not very artistic and often struggle for game ideas etc. However, recently I have been thinking more about how personal games are (i.e. compared to movies/book storylines).

How personal do you think games are to most developers (say the lead designer)? Can you tell when a game story or concept has been influenced by a person?

#2 Posted by FourWude (2261 posts) -

You can usually tell when there's a unity of vision in a videogame which tends to come about because of the personal relationship between the lead creator(s) and their game.

#3 Posted by DazbotAthertron (875 posts) -

I think that it's a lot easier to see a developers' personality shine through in indie games in particular (which I hope to make) since the story may have been formed by just one person.

#4 Posted by Video_Game_King (35780 posts) -

Doesn't it depend on the game?

#5 Posted by DazbotAthertron (875 posts) -

Well of course, i.e. indie games and story driven games etc apply, whereas say sports or driving would not. I'm specifically talking about maybe real life experiences being mirrored in their game.

#6 Posted by Echofoxz (98 posts) -

One example I can think of out of top of my head is The Binding of Isaac. If you seen the opening of that game, then you can tell there definitely is personal influence on the game.

#7 Posted by DazbotAthertron (875 posts) -

@Echofoxz said:

One example I can think of out of top of my head is The Binding of Isaac. If you seen the opening of that game, then you can tell there definitely is personal influence on the game.

Interesting, I shall take a look!

#8 Posted by believer258 (11554 posts) -

You can't always tell. I don't think the Infinity Ward or Treyarch guys really care that much about Call of Duty. It's a job in the game development industry so, hey, why not keep it?