ThemightyAce

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By ThemightyAce

Hi everyone! Newbie here!

Wanted your perspective on the topic of challenging games.

I recently picked up Dark Souls on PC but a bit scared to give it a go because I tend to give up easily when games get tough to play. Now the knew the reputation of the Souls games before making such an adventurous purchase but thought, might as well see how other gamers such as myself deal with games like the mentioned above.

Anyone who has played the souls games or similar rage catalysts, how do you maintain the mental fortitude while facing a tough boss or a game for that matter?

Much appreciated,

Themighty-but a bit of a pussy-Ace

Justin258

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 11

User Lists: 8

#2  Edited By Justin258

I've been playing Dark Souls 1. I've found it way harder than 2, but others find 2 way harder than 1. In any case, as long as you're willing to learn from your mistakes and as long as you're patient, you can finish Dark Souls. As far as making it through tough games, I just don't think of death as a big deal. In a well-balanced game worth playing through on high difficulties, your dwath should always feel like your own fault and that usually makes it way easier to deal with hard parts. If I feel something is cheap, I either bump down the difficulty or stop playing.

huntad

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 13

I'll say that when I beat Demon's Souls and Bloodborne, it was mainly a game of patience and trial and error. If you are scrupulous in checking every nook and cranny, you will have a better time. Still, there is a hefty amount of using tactics that feel really cheap in a way that is not very fun. If you can get past the part where dying causes you to repeat the same fights against the weaker enemies along the way to your main objective, you're good to go. I couldn't, so I stopped playing Dark Souls 1.