#1 Posted by qawsed (143 posts) -

The audio levels have been really ouch lately (Dorito's Crash Course 2, Way of the Dogg, War Logs). I'm no audio expert, but it sounds like something terrible has gone on with the gain or level compression. Mics are distorting and clipping (even when people aren't screaming), and it's fatiguing listening to things at normal volume.

#2 Edited by MordeaniisChaos (5730 posts) -

Man, I thought it was just me being picky, but I agree. Something about the audio has gotten really grating. Seems to be going around a lot, Tested had a lot of audio issues on the podcast.

It seems like they aren't using consistent mics or something, because different people have sounded totally different, and even from video to video the mics have sounded differently.

#3 Edited by alternate (2681 posts) -

Have not noticed a difference myself. Volume is still really low but I have got used to turning it up.

If you use twitter try msg'ing @drewscanlon

#4 Posted by Vman (19 posts) -

I have to agree, it started with the Way of the Dogg quick look i think. The sounds just blows out at the high end.

#5 Edited by GS_Dan (1402 posts) -

I noticed it too. Definite clipping.

#6 Edited by AlexW00d (6180 posts) -

Yeah it's been pretty bad recently, not sure what's up. Maybe they're training someone on the audio?

I have to turn the volume down a lot anyway, cause my headphones are fairly loud, but if I forget it kind of hurts my brain.

#7 Posted by Video_Game_King (35975 posts) -

I haven't heard the clipping, but I like the new loudness to Quick Looks, at least compared to the older Quick Looks and their "so quiet that I have trouble hearing them at max volume" volume.

#8 Edited by MikkaQ (10268 posts) -